Founded in 1964...

Founded in 1964, our Association has been thriving now for more than half a century. Membership usually numbers around seventy to eighty, but we are actively recruiting and would be delighted to welcome new members - and new ideas.

The Association is governed by constitution, ultimately controlled in practice by the whole membership, and managed (according to that mandate) by an elected committee.

Members are kept regularly informed via a Newsletter which is published every two months and by email circulars between each edition of the Newsletter. Every effort is made to involve the membership in forward planning and current organisation. Many aspects of the Association's activities (such as Education, Communications, and all major events) are administered by informal working parties with a flexible structure that can include ordinary members, committee members, and outside consultants.

We are delighted to have as our President Dr Peter Nardone, Organist and Director of Music at Worcester Cathedral.

The regular management of the Association is carried out by a committee of elected representatives, comprising professionally qualified musicians and enthusiastic amateurs - who bring other relevant expertise from their professions in education, engineering, accountancy, and other fields.

John Erskine

After academic training in literary criticism, culminating in research in medieval and Renaissance topics, John Erskine’s principal career was in teaching. With a life-long amateur interest in music but a profession in literature, John likes to enjoy pieces (as texts) for their meaning. He is interested specifically in HIPP and generally in the dialogue between music and cultural history. He studies the organ locally with Hilary Norris, in London with Daniel Moult, and (occasionally) in Holland with Pieter van Dijk and Frank van Wijk; he also studies improvisation with Ronny Krippner and Duncan Middleton; and he attends a variety of courses, including St Andrews, LOIC, and Alkmaar. He is a member of the RCO.

David Allen

After a career in Management Accountancy in the aerospace industry, mostly in England but finally in France, David Allen took early retirement in 1996 and has acted subsequently as Treasurer to a number of smaller organisations, mostly of a charitable nature, including the Worcestershire Organists' Association since 2008. He attempted to take up the organ late in life (with, so he comments, mixed success!), and occasionally deputises at Powick Church. David is a Past Chairman of the Worcestershire Organists' Association.

James Coupe

Having spent a working life as a mechanical engineer in the lifting equipment industry, and chain making in particular, in retirement James Coupe continues to work as a part-time consultant and also as President of the Lifting Equipment Engineers Association. Having an organist as a father and singing in a church choir gave him a love for organ and choral music. A long-standing member of the Oldham, Rochdale and Thameside Organists' Association, he was directly involved in the restoration of the 1913 JJ Binns organ in Rochdale town hall in 1979 and was at the time on the IAO council.

Paul Carr
Committee Member

Paul Carr spends a large part of his time playing the organ. He plays between thirty and forty recitals and concerts each year, in addition to playing for services at a number of churches. Paul is Musician in Residence at Holy Trinity Wordsley, near Stourbridge, where his series ‘Sunday Afternoon Organ Music’ takes place each month. His recital series ‘Thursday Live’, hosted at St Chad’s Metropolitan Cathedral in Birmingham, began in 2008 at St Paul’s in the Jewellery Quarter, where Paul was Director of Music from 2003 until 2016. He continues to enjoy choral direction in a freelance capacity. Paul is a Past President of Birmingham Organists’ Association.

CAfrom Fb
Christopher Allsop
Committee Member

Christopher Allsop, born and educated in London, held the Organ Scholarship at St. Martin-in-the-Fields before spending a gap-year as Organ Scholar at St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle. He graduated in music from Trinity College, Cambridge after three years as Organ Scholar. He then moved to Birmingham as Assistant Organist of the Cathedral and Organist of the Blue Coat School, teaching organ, piano, and class music. In 2004 Christopher took up his present post of Assistant DoM at Worcester Cathedral, both accompanying, and sharing in the direction of, the Cathedral Choirs, as well as giving individual organ lessons. His first solo CD (The English Cathedral Series Volume XVII) was released in 2018.

Michael Jones
Committee Member

In 2016 Michael Jones celebrates forty-five years as a professional pianist, and freelance church organist. He is also a historian, lecturer, and musicologist: he has catalogued the manuscripts of several Midlands-based composers and is the biographer and music executor of Edgar Bainton (1880 - 1956) - of 'And I Saw a New Heaven' fame.

David Terry
Committee Member

After a career of nearly forty years in professional accountancy and a lifelong love of music, David Terry studied organ at the Birmingham Conservatoire with David Saint, Marcus Huxley, and Daniel Moult. He graduated in 2006 and now helps out at several parishes in Worcestershire and its environs, particularly Kidderminster St George's and Worcester St George's. His favoured music is the baroque period and earlier, and he has also a particular interest in opera.

James Bradley
Committee Member

James Bradley is Director of Music at St Mary and All Saints' Church, Kidderminster. He is a member of the Worcestershire Area Committee of the Royal School of Church Music, and a freelance organist and pianist who regularly accompanies choirs and individuals, for performances and exams. He recently accompanied the Silurian Choir in Twyning, and performed the organ part in Saint-Saens' organ symphony with a Stourbridge-based orchestra. James is on the board of directors of the recently-formed Kidderminster Festival Orchestra, as well as being its audition accompanist and one of its founding members.